Michigan, North Dakota 

Come Home To Michigan

Dakota Prairie School District #1


Michigan, North Dakota is part of the Dakota Prairie School District. Our consolidated school district was formed on July 1, 1993 and educates students from Aneta, Dahlen, Hamar, Kloten, McVille, Michigan, Niagara, Pekin, Petersburg, Whitman and Tolna.  The district consists of approximately nine hundred square miles and is primarily located in Nelson County, however, parts of it extend into six other counties: Walsh, Grand Forks, Steele, Eddy, Bensen, and Ramsey. 

The Dakota Prairie Elementary School is located in McVille and grades 7-12 attend Dakota Prairie High School in Petersburg.

We provided a high quality education in a safe, secure learning environment.  Our senior high students have the opportunity to partake in dual credit classes giving these college bound students a head start in their college careers.  A wide array of extra-curricular activities allow our entire student body a chance to represent the Dakota Prairie Knights in many ways.  This type of involvement helps provide each of our graduates a well rounded education.

Nationally, North Dakota provides a highly ranked education to it's students.  Dakota Prairie is a proven educational leader in our state and we are very proud of our students, staff and educational facilities.

To find out what is going on in our district, click on the images below to follow the links to our official school website, sports information and school calendar.


Official website of Michigan, North Dakota